We Were Promised Jetpacks - In the Pit of the Stomach [2011]

MUSiC, Album. October 4, 2011 by robinhood.

We Were Promised Jetpacks - In the Pit of the Stomach [2011] [Album]
Audio CD
Store Date: October 4, 2011
Number of Discs: 1
Label: FatCat

Original Release / FatCat / FATCD97 / CD » MP3 / 320

When a band's debut album is both impressive and hugely successful, it's not often that their sophomore effort makes it seem almost average in comparison. But 'In the Pit of the Stomach', We Were Promised Jetpacks' grand, accomplished follow-up to 2009's 'These Four Walls' - is precisely this rare exception. 'In the Pit of the Stomach' is a huge leap forward from their debut full of prickly ambition and grand-scale vision, sure, but with no shortage of the hooks and personal engagement that have earned their debut and, indeed, their powerful, wrenching live shows such a wide, devoted following. The band decamped to Sigur Ros' studio retreat in the frozen wilds of Iceland to record the new record with live sound engineer Andrew Bush, and made an album that both captures the sound of their live show and is strong start to finish. Peter Katis (Frightened Rabbit, The National) was also on hand for mixing and additional production duties.

Only a couple of songs on 'These Four Walls' invited shout-alongs; this time they're everywhere, from crashing opener "Circles and Squares" ("Life in a coma could be quite fun!") to the bouncy "Medicine" ("Is this about me now?") to dirge-y death ballad "Act On Impulse." It's lyrically somber, no doubt, but ultimately redemptive -- like a healing calm after the storm.

We Were Promised Jetpacks' second album tightens the craggy fuzz of their first, revealing twisty post-punk songs with chewy pop centers. With thunderous live performances matching the post-rock power of fellow Scot’s Mogwai and a post-punk pop sensibility comparable to that of Foals or Bloc Party, ‘In the Pit of the Stomach’ proves how WWPJ have stealthily become a fully-fledged rock band - louder, wilder, avidly literate, fiercely melodic, and powerfully restrained.

Track List:
01. Circles and Squares
02. Medicine
03. Through the Dirt and the Gravel
04. Act On Impulse
05. Hard to Remember
06. Picture of Health
07. Sore Thumb
08. Boy In the Backseat
09. Human Error
10. Pear Tree
Digital Bonus Tracks:
11. Ink Slowly Dries (iTunes UK Bonus Track) (click to download)





Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [4-10-2011]