Tortoise - The Catastrophist 2016-FNT

MUSiC, Album. January 22, 2016 by Anonymous.

Holy shit new Tortoise This band has been tripping me out since the fuckin 90's, and they never cease to amaze. This is their first record in six years, and it's worth the wait I can see this being in my top of 2016, so go pick it up in a few days. The cover art rules lol. See them live while extremely high and they will blow your mind.

Tortoise - The Catastrophist [2016] [Album]
Thrill Jockey / CD
MP3 / V0 (VBR) / Scene

The album features vocals from Yo La Tengo's Georgia Hubley (on "Yonder Blue") and U.S. Maple/Dead Rider's Todd Rittmann (on a cover of David Essex's "Rock On"). A press release explains that the album's initial inspiration came after they received a commission from the City of Chicago in 2010. The band were asked to create music "rooted in its ties to the area's noted jazz and improvised music communities." They performed some "loose themes" live and eventually turned them into something "orchestrated and complex" for the album.

01. The Catastrophist (3:52)
02. Ox Duke (4:49)
03. Rock On (3:13)
04. Gopher Island (1:13)
05. Shake Hands with Danger (4:10)
06. The Clearing Fills (4:22)
07. Gesceap (7:37)
08. Hot Coffee (3:53)
09. Yonder Blue (3:18)
10. Tesseract (3:54)
11. At Odds with Logic (3:15)

Download File


Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [22-01-2016]