Tortoise - The Catastrophist [2016]

MUSiC, Album. November 24, 2015 by Anonymous.

Tortoise - The Catastrophist [2016] [Album]
Thrill Jockey / WEB
MP3 / 320

Chicago's Tortoise haven't released an album since 2009's Beacons of Ancestorship. On January 22, they'll release The Catastrophist via Thrill Jockey. Check out the lead single "Gesceap" below.

The album features vocals from Yo La Tengo's Georgia Hubley (on "Yonder Blue") and U.S. Maple/Dead Rider's Todd Rittmann (on a cover of David Essex's "Rock On"). A press release explains that the album's initial inspiration came after they received a commission from the City of Chicago in 2010. The band were asked to create music "rooted in its ties to the area's noted jazz and improvised music communities." They performed some "loose themes" live and eventually turned them into something "orchestrated and complex" for the album.


A1 • The Catastrophist
A2 • Ox Duke
A3 • Rock On
A4 • Gopher Island
A5 • Shake Hands With Danger
A6 • The Clearing Fills
B1 • Gesceap
B2 • Hot Coffee
B3 • Yonder Blue
B4 • Tesseract
B5 • At Odds With Logic

Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [24-11-2015]