The War on Drugs - Slave Ambient [2011] Deluxe Edition

MUSiC, Album. September 27, 2011 by robinhood.
The War on Drugs - Slave Ambient [2011] Deluxe Edition
The War on Drugs - Slave Ambient [2011] [Album]

Secretly Canadian / SC190DLX / Deluxe Edition / CD » MP3 / 320

The deluxe edition of the album comes packaged with 2010's outstanding EP, 'Future Weather'-finally now availbale on CD for the first time! It was previously only released as a 12" Vinyl LP and Digital Download last year.

On their debut, the life-affirming 'Wagonwheel Blues', and the follow-up EP, 'Future Weather', Philly’s The War on Drugs seemed obsessed with disparate ideas, with building uncompromised rock monuments from pieces that may have seemed like odd pairs. Folk-rock marathons come damaged by drum machines. Electronic and instrumental reprises precede songs they’ve yet to play, and Dr. Seuss becomes lyrical motivation for bold futuristic visions. Now, Adam Granduciel has done it again, better than before: 'Slave Ambient ', their proper second album, is a brilliant 47-minute sprawl of rock ‘n’ roll, conceptualized with a sense of adventure and captured with seasons of bravado.

'Slave Ambient' features a team of Philadelphia’s finest musicians, including multi-instrumentalists Dave Hartley and Robbie Bennett, and drummer Mike Zanghi. Recorded throughout the last four years at Granduciel’s home studio in Philly, Jeff Ziegler’s Uniform Recording and Echo Mountain in Asheville, NC, the album puts the weirdest influences in just the right places. Synthesizers fall where you might expect more electric guitars (and vice versa); country-rock sidles up to the warped extravagance of ’80s pop. Instant classic “Baby Missiles” is part Spingsteen fever dream, part motorik anthem “Original Slave” might sound like a hillbilly power drone, but “City Reprise #12″ suggests Phil Collins un-retiring to back Harmonia. “I Was There” is 'Harvest' rebuilt by some selection of psychedelic all-stars, while the shuffling, sleepy opener “Best Night” offers a band with too many ideas to be in a hurry. During the mid-album centerpiece “Come to the City,” Granduciel howls and moans, “All roads lead to me/I’ve been moving/I’ve been drifting.” Indeed, however unlikely that might seem, all these sounds arrive cohesively in one unmistakable place. Every song on 'Slave Ambient' is instantly identifiable and infinitely intricate, a latticework of ideas and energies building into mile-high rock anthems. It’s a remarkable work for which we have an enormous pride and respect. And for which the story is only just beginning.

# Audio CD / Vinyl LP
# Number of Discs: Standard: 1; Deluxe Edition: 2
# Label: Secretly Canadian

Track List:
Slave Ambient
01. Best Night
02. Brothers
03. I Was There
04. Your Love Is Calling My Name
05. The Animator
06. Come to the City
07. Come for It
08. It's Your Destiny
09. City Reprise #12
10. Baby Missiles
11. Original Slave
12. Black Water Falls

Deluxe Edition Bonus Disc
Future Weather
01. Come to the City #14
02. Baby Missles
03. Comin’ Through
04. A Pile of Tires
05. Comin’ Around
06. Brothers
07. Missiles Reprise
08. The History of Plastic


Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [27-09-2011]