The Boxer Rebellion - The Cold Still [2011]

MUSiC, Album. September 27, 2011 by robinhood.
The Boxer Rebellion - The Cold Still [2011]
The Boxer Rebellion - The Cold Still [2011] [Album]

Absentee Recordings / YRCG-90054 / Japan Bonus Track Edition / CD ยป MP3 / 320

The Boxer Rebellion have been doing what all great bands do with each album... Evolve. This next logical progression in their career path only shows how much their songwriting skill and musical ability has strengthened over the years. Those who have been with them from the beginning will have mixed feeling about their sophomore album (2009's 'Union'), but it was a critical step in their progression as a band by blending the freestyle power chords of their debut (2005's 'Exits') with a more melodic, and dare I say, radio friendly sound. For the doubters, the fact that tunes like "Semi-Automatic" , "Soviets", and "Spitting Fire" weren't huge radio hits is a testament to just how 'indie' this band really is. Those tracks would have been inescapable had Coldplay performed any of them. However, with 'The Cold Still' the steps that The Boxer Rebellion take inject a more mature, confident sound. I had the opportunity to meet the band this past September in Philadelphia and they are just as humble as they are good at what they do. They actually expressed a bit of nervousness about this album and I think through listening you will hear why. The songs are just riddled with raw emotion. Somehow, producer Ethan Johns was able to capture something amazing here and ,if there is any justice, this album will be the raving success that it deserves to be. From the minimal opening of 'No Harm' to the (could've been on 'Exits') track "Memo", to the masterpiece in waiting "Both Sides Are Even", this album does not disappoint. Each track is in itself a journey and one that you discover something new with each listen. Along with Elbow's 'Build a Rocket Boys' , this album was the one to wait for in 2011 and the wait is over and it was soooo worth the wait. 2011 is poised to be a great year in music and The Boxer Rebellion are leading the pack.

Track List:
01. No Harm
02. Step Out of the Car
03. Locked in the Basement
04. Cause for Alarm
05. Caught by the Light
06. Organ Song
07. Memo
08. Both Sides Are Even
09. The Runner
10. Doubt
Japan Edition Exclusive Bonus Tracks:
11. If You Run (Acoustic)
12. Losing You (B-Side)
13. World Without End (Alternate Version)
14. Semi-Automatic (Acoustic)
iTunes Exclusive Bonus Tracks
11. The Gospel of Goro Adachi (Live) (click to download)
12. Evacute (Acoustic) (click to download)
13. You (B-Side) [Pre-order only] (click to download)

HMV Limited Bonus Disc:
01. 325 (B-Side)
02. Secret Handshake (B-Side)
03. Semi Automatic (Alternate Version)
04. Spitting Fire (Acoustic)

Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [27-09-2011]