Rumer - Boys Don't Cry (Special Edition) 2012-C4 + CD FLAC 2012-PERFECT

MUSiC, Album. May 30, 2012 by Jason.

Update : Special_Edition-CD-FLAC-2012-PERFECT

Second album by Rumer, produced by Steve Brown. The album is a selection of songs by artist/writers from the 1970s period.

Rumer - Boys Don't Cry [2012] [Album]
Atlantic / 2564659103 / Special Edition / CD
FLAC / Lossless / Scene
MP3 320 CBR
V0 (VBR) / Scene

Rumer covers works by male artists such as Jimmy Webb, Todd Rundgren, Terry Reid, Tim Hardin, Richie Havens, Leon Russell, Gilbert O'Sullivan and others.

01. P.F. Sloan
02. It Could Be The First Day
03. Be Nice To Me
04. Travelin' Boy
05. Soulsville
06. Same Old Tears On A New Background
07. Sara Smile
08. Flyin' Shoes
09. Home Thoughts From Abroad
10. Just For A Moment
11. Brave Awakening
12. We Will
Bonus tracks (Special Edition):
13. Andre Johray
14. Soul Rebel
15. My Cricket
16. A Man Needs a Maid

Paul Lester, BBC wrote:
On Boys Don’t Cry, the follow-up to her million-selling 2010 debut Seasons of My Soul, Rumer has recorded versions of tracks written by men in the 1970s. It doesn’t quite have the subversive qualities that Tori Amos’ similarly themed 2001 album Strange Little Girls had – with the possible exception of her take on Neil Young’s A Man Needs a Maid, where the sense and meaning of the original are somewhat altered by its being performed by a woman in 2012.

Often, with its covers of songs by Todd Rundgren, Hall & Oates, Stephen Bishop, Paul Williams, Clifford T Ward, Gilbert O’Sullivan and Jimmy Webb, Boys Don't Cry feels like Rumer’s deep immersion in the pantheon of arcane US and UK MOR rock prompted her to construct an alternative canon of commercial tunesmiths requiring critical rehabilitation. In almost every instance she inhabits the songs to such an extent that they feel like her own compositions, even when the titles at first seem inappropriate.

Williams’ Travelin’ Boy is one of two tracks here by a songwriter formerly covered by Karen Carpenter, whose voice Rumer’s resembles to an uncanny degree. Not for nothing did she recently receive the approbation of Richard Carpenter to go along with her plaudits from Elton John and Burt Bacharach.

The object of the project was, she says, to make a record that described the solace and anguish she’s experienced since achieving success and fame. Hence all the songs – including Travelin’ Boy, Ward’s Home Thoughts From Abroad and Flyin' Shoes by Townes Van Zandt – about rootlessness and longing to be home.

It goes without saying that Rumer’s performances are uniformly technically flawless and models of restraint. Boys Don't Cry works superbly as a companion piece to Seasons..., the harmonic richness of the music and lush chord sequences showing exactly where her allegiances lie: Be Nice to Me is Rumer doing Rundgren doing Laura Nyro doing Bacharach, and Travelin' Boy suggests an album’s worth of collaborations with the composer of Rainy Days and Mondays would be no bad thing.

Boys Don’t Cry posits Rumer as a throwback, albeit a glorious one, to a bygone era, when the songwriting verities of the Brill Building were transposed to LA’s Laurel Canyon. Fabulous stuff.

Download File

Download from Extabit Turbobit Exoshare

Download from Extabit Turbobit Exoshare

Download from Extabit Turbobit Exoshare

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • cvrcmrc
  • [4 June 2012 00:49]
Thank you!