Mose Allison - Gimcracks and Gewgaws (1997) FLAC

MUSiC. June 26, 2011 by iStore.
Mose Allison - Gimcracks and Gewgaws (1997) FLAC

Mose Allison - Gimcracks and Gewgaws (1997) FLAC
Jazz, Vocal | FLAC, CUE, LOG | 272 Mb
Rip by EAC, Full Covers | Label: Blue Note

His nasal, staccato vocals and way obtuse lyricshaving now influenced several generations of jazz, blues, and rock groups, Mose Allison is back with "Gimcracks And Gewgaws"(both words describe a showy trinket of little value) another marvelous, quirky set of songs. With a well chosen group consisting of Ratzo Harris on bass,Mark Shim on tenor sax,guitarist Russell Malone and stalwart drummer Paul Motian, Allison has one of his finest sets yet. The icebreaker "MJA Jr. is a demented little ditty about his name. It's followed by the title cut with thumping bass, powerful sax lines and off the wall cluster chords on the piano. He gets more serious with the otherworldly ballad "Numbers On Paper" with it's bleak outlook on bureaucracy. Then we shift gears into the jumpin' "Cruise Control". A lot of the material is bluesy like "Saint Louis Blues" (not the old standard) which has Russell Malone doing his best B.B. King imitation. "What Will It Be", my favorite here, is a hillarious take on what winds up killing you in the end, has Malone in more of a Kenny Burrell mode. Allison's voice and piano technique have never sounded better. Mark Shim's sax playing brings to mind Gerry Mulligan and the rhythm section is always right on the mark. The word play is clever and you'll find yourself chuckling more than once.The recording has the immediacy and warmth of an after hours jazz joint, sleepy, almost hypnotic. Other highlights include "Fires Of Spring", and "What's With You". Though much of the imagery seems to concern death, the overall effect is fairly upbeat and tongue-in-cheek. His classic "Young Man Blues"(covered by, among others, the Who) has recieved, perhaps, it's definative treatment as the retitled "Old Man Blues"and wraps up the collection. This guy amazes me. He sounds exactly like he did forty years ago, only the sound is much better.

01. MJA Jr. (Mose Allison) 3:33
02. Gimcracks And Gewgaws (Mose Allison) 5:14
03. Numbers On Paper (Mose Allison) 2:35
04. Cruise Control (Mose Allison) 3:00
05. St. Louis Blues (W.C. Handy) 4:05
06. Mockingbird (Mose Allison) 3:04
07. The More You Get (Mose Allison) 2:54
08. Texanna (Mose Allison) 2:30
09. What Will It Be (Mose Allison) 3:11
10. So Tired (Mose Allison/Shapiro Bernstein/Russ Morgan) 4:04
11. Somebody Gonna Have To Move (Mose Allison) 1:57
12. Fires Of Spring (Mose Allison) 3:31
13. What's With You (Mose Allison) 3:33
14. Old Man Blues (Mose Allison) 1:33

Download Links:

Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [26-06-2011]