Maribou State - Portraits COUNTCD063 CD 2015-BFHMP3

MUSiC, Album. June 17, 2015 by Anonymous.

With a sound as quintessentially British as the picturesque Hertfordshire village that they call home, Maribou State release their debut album Portraits.

Maribou State - Portraits [2015] [Album]
Counter Records / CD
MP3 / V0 (VBR) / Scene

Album info
1. Home (3:15)
2. The Clown (feat. Pedestrian) (4:07)
3. Rituals (4:26)
4. Steal (feat. Holly Walker) (3:39)
5. Wallflower (3:43)
6. Say More (feat. Jono McCleery) (4:23)
7. Raincoats (4:37)
8. Midas (feat. Holly Walker) (3:38)
9. Natural Fools (5:39)
10. Varkala (3:24)

Portraits sees Chris Davids and Liam Ivory exemplify the sort of rare but precious sonic harmony that has made their name so far: equal parts emotive instrumentation and sturdy rhythms, stark soundscapes and rich textures. Featuring longtime collaborator Pedestrian (2nd Drop / Born Electric) as well as vocalists Holly Walker and Jono McCleery, the album takes on a subtle dynamism and natural warmth redolent of Gold Panda and SOHN.

Well-versed in the art of balance, the duo have been quietly yet mightily refining their touch in recent years, delivering a string of releases (including the much loved Tongue and Truths EPs for Norman Cook's Southern Fried Records) crafted through an incredible studio ethic at their rural bolt-hole "The Shack in the Back". Far from your typical laptop-reliant producers; the pair are mindful to incorporate live musicianship and songcraft that imbue a soulfulness and character into their sound. As a result, they've already caught the attention of radio heavyweights (Zane Lowe, Huw Stephens, Annie Mac, B. Traits, Pete Tong and Gilles Peterson) and blazed a trail at festivals across Europe including Glastonbury, Warehouse Project and Bestival alongside John Talabot, Lxury and Jamie xx.

An irresistible marriage of deep, resonant guitar licks and dishevelled synths riding upon loping breakbeats and overlaid with trademark deconstructed vocal dubs, "Rituals" picks up where Maribou State left off in 2013. It's a clear signal of Chris and Liam's ambition to take Maribou State into the live arena in 2015 and an awesome glimpse ahead to Portraits.

1. Fawn 1:01
2. The Clown (Feat. Pedestrian) (Gang Colours Remix) 3:12
3. Colours In Sea 4:48
4. Manila 3:12
5. The Clown (Feat. Pedestrian) (John Beltran Remix) 5:53

Download File



Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [17-06-2015]