King Cannons The Brightest Light 2012-404

MUSiC, Album. June 23, 2012 by nico.

Kick-starting proceedings with a rousing crowd rallying in Stand Right Up, King Cannons keep it real, rough and ready on their debut album.

Capitol / CD
King Cannons - The Brightest Light [2012] [Album]
MP3 V0 (VBR) / Scene

You can certainly hear The Clash in the straightforward rock approach to it all. And theres plenty of Joe Strummer in singer Luke Yeowards lyrical call-to-arms, whether its defying the system Were too young to settle down/ Fighting a workers battleground (Too Young) or just to crawl out from under that thumb (The Brightest Light) and demanding the right to choose

Its certainly an uplifting, heady mix, plugging straight into that anthemic thing that made Springsteen, another blue-collar guy who knew how to harness the popular zeitgeist. Its all stomp and blokey backing chants it works a treat and always has it did for Slade back in the day as much as it did later for the more credible Clash and Living End. To shake things up a bit, theres percussion courtesy of Lanae Eruera, adding just enough understated exoticism to nudge away from the formula

Melodically things arent too complicated some songs are pretty interchangeable but thats cool too. Most bands only have a couple of licks around which they wrap their careers and King Cannons core ones are pretty damned good ones - tensile, tried and tested (and likely to remain so regardless of where rocknroll might go next). Its all about tension and release and King Cannons have got that sussed, stripping back the chug through the verses and pumping it hard in the choruses you can just see a heaving sea of blokes in blue singlets chanting along, just like the old days with the Oils. Stadiums are just a shot... er, few thousand sales away

01. Stand Right Up 3:03
02. Too Young 3:29
03. The Brightest Light 3:34
04. Too Hot To Handle 3:18
05. Call For Help 4:25
06. Shot To Kill 3:49
07. Ride Again 3:50
08. Charlie O 2:55
09. The Cool Change 2:34
10. On Our Own 2:56
11. Everyman's Tale 3:52
12. The Last Post 4:30
13. 131 Bop 2:49
14. Take The Rock 2:58


Download File

Download from Extabit Squillion Exoshare

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [23-06-2012]
  • Mike Goldsmith
  • [6 January 2013 11:42]
  • Bob Jon
  • [6 January 2013 11:42]
Hi And Thanks