Kimbra - The Golden Echo 2014-pLAN9

MUSiC, Album. August 15, 2014 by Anonymous.

Woot woot!

Kimbra - The Golden Echo [2014] [Album]
Warner Bros. / Deluxe Edition / CD
MP3 / V0 (VBR)

The ultimate modern pop record, The Golden Echo is ambitious, sophisticated, and complex, just like its creator. The New Zealand-born singer and songwriter wrote the songs in her bedroom studio on a farm in the Silver Lake neighborhood of Los Angeles, where she was surrounded by sheep and lambs owned by her landlady. The result of her labours is The Golden Echo, which was produced by Rich Costey (Foster The People, Interpol, Muse), who has been on her dream list of collaborators since she was 15. The lyrics find her grappling with a range of subject matter, from feeling nostalgic about young love on '90s Music', to being caught up in a place of narrowness on 'Mad House', to wanting to run away and make a new life on 'Carolina', to the vulnerability that follows succumbing to temptation on 'Be Everlovin' Ya'. Kimbra wrote several of the songs with Daniel Johns from Silverchair, another idol of hers. Sonically, the album is a riot of genres: '70s disco ('Miracle'), Prince-like funk ('Madhouse'), playful, sing-songy electro-pop ('90s Music'), eerie space-age hip-hop ('Goldmine'), plus an emotionally resonant piano ballad, 'As You Are', with a string arrangement by Van Dyke Parks. Her lo-fi bedroom aesthetic is filled out by the playing of the musicians, who include drummer John JR Robinson, (Michael Jackson's main studio drummer, who played on five of the tracks), as well as several special guests: Muse's Matt Bellamy ('90s Music'), bassist Thundercat, rapper Flying Lotus, Dirty Projectors' Dave Longstreth, Mars Volta's Omar Rodriguez-Lopez ('Carolina'), R&B singer Bilal ('Be Everlovin' Ya'), and mega-star John Legend ('Nobody But You').

1. Teen Heat (04:44)
2. 90s Music (03:36)
3. Carolina (04:18)
4. Goldmine (04:40)
5. Miracle (04:49)
6. Rescue Him (05:34)
7. Madhouse (04:04)
8. Everlovin' Ya (feat. Bilal) (04:44)
9. As You Are (05:21)
10. Love In High Places (05:15)
11. Nobody But You (05:22)
12. Waltz Me To the Grave (07:30)

Deluxe Edition:
13. Slum Love (Bonus Track) (05:04)
14. Sugar Lies (Bonus Track) (04:10)
15. The Magic Hour (Bonus Track) (04:31)

Download File


Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [15-08-2014]