Kendra Morris - Banshee 2012-C4 & CD FLAC 2012-PERFECT

MUSiC, Album. September 7, 2012 by Jason.

Kendra Morris’s debut album V0 and FLAC from scene group C4 and PERFECT as usual.

Kendra Morris - Banshee Album
2012 - Wax Poetics Records / WPR016 / CD
FLAC / Lossless / Cue / Scene
MP3 / V0 (VBR) / Scene

Kendra Morris certainly isn’t the first modern-day chanteuse to peddle a vintage R&B/soul sound -- a few especially well-known names like Adele and Amy Winehouse come to mind. But that's part of the appeal of the New York-based singer, whose debut full-length, Banshee, will be released on August 28. Rather than merely imitating the popular British style, Morris manages to pull together a collection of original and memorable songs that stand out from what is an intimidating female field.

01. Waiting (4:05)
02. Pow (3:46)
03. If You Didn't Go (4:46)
04. Concrete Waves (4:29)
05. Right Now (4:04)
06. The Plunge (3:19)
07. Here (4:17)
08. Today (4:25)
09. Just One More (4:00)
10. Old Photos (3:47)
11. How You Want It (3:26)
12. Banshee (3:46)

Total time: 48 minutes

Banshee begins on a creepy note with a quavery minor chord that calls to mind the deathly creature from which the album takes its name. The supernatural is a recurring theme on the album; we hear mentions of voodoo and poison in the Lauryn Hill-esque track "Pow," and the wailing banshee herself appears at the end of the record on a song reminiscent of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins' "I Put a Spell On You." As Morris told Vibe Magazine in a video interview last month, "I was always interested in banshees.... You really can cast a spell with your voice and entrance people."

My favorite tracks from the album come back-to-back with the disco slow jam concoction "If You Didn’t Go," and the hip-hop tinged "Concrete Waves."

KATIE BISHOP, Associate Producer, Soundcheck

Download File

Kendra Morris-Banshee-2012-C4 Extabit | Exoshare

Kendra Morris-Banshee-CD-FLAC-2012-PERFECT Extabit | Exoshare

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [7-09-2012]