Joshua Redman - MoodSwing (1994) [FLAC]

MUSiC. March 4, 2011 by iStore.

Joshua Redman - MoodSwing (1994) [FLAC]
EAC Rip | FLAC (Tracks) - Cue - Log | Scans Complete | Release: 1994 | 421 MB
Gerne: Jazz

Saxophonist Joshua Redman's third album as a leader is cause for celebration, because here's a young jazzman gifted with all manner of technical gifts, yet he places a premium on feeling and communication. MOODSWING is just that, a series of changes, alternating between the cool and the hot--each arrangement depicting some aspect of Redman's wide-ranging musical personality.

So it comes to pass that a long jump tune such as "Rejoice" (the centerpiece of MOODSWING) celebrates the gospel aspects of jazz in the tried and true manner of the original Jazz Messengers, even as a low-key "Faith" derives its inspiration from quieter forms of devotion, while "Dialogue" manages to combine both as Redman expounds on a quiet Aylerish hymn with escalating intensity.

As with his previous recordings, listeners are left with the sense that young Joshua Redman is mature beyond his years. On a cool, swinging minor blues vamp such as "Chill," the ease with which he manipulates the timbres of his saxophone recall old-time tenor kings from the swing era. And yet, Redman is very much the contemporary thinker, as his funky closing tune "Headin' Home" illustrates. Whether playing R&B or hard bop, ballads or swing, blues or latin, it's the total conviction Joshua Redman brings to every note that makes MOODSWING a joy.

Recorded at Power Station, New York on March 8-10, 1994. Includes liner notes by Joshua Redman.

1. "Sweet Sorrow"
2. "Chill"
3. "Rejoice"
4. "Faith"
5. "Alone in the Morning"
6. "Mischief"
7. "Dialogue"
8. "The Oneness of Two (In Three)"
9. "Past in the Present"
10. "Obsession"
11. "Headin' Home"

Download From FileSonic

Download From FileServe

Download From HotFile

Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [4-03-2011]