Great Lake Swimmers - New Wild Everywhere 2CD 2012-FNT

MUSiC, Album. March 30, 2012 by Jason.

Here's the fifth full length from this awesome Canadian indie band. As with all of their previous records, their sound continues to grow on this effort. Definitely one of the best indie records of the year, so pick it up next week in a deluxe digipack with great artwork.

Great Lake Swimmers - New Wild Everywhere [2012] Album

Label: Nettwerk
Playtime:76:06 min
Genre: Indie
Rip date: 2012-03-29
Street date: 2012-04-03
Quality: 233 kbps / 4410Hz / Joint Stereo

Promo wrote:

New Wild Everywhere captures all of the excitement and intuitive musicianship of a group at the peak of their creative powers, with 12 new tracks that reveal a depth and maturity only previously hinted at by lead singer and songwriter Tony Dekker. Produced by longtime Great Lake Swimmers’ collaborator Andy Magoffin, New Wild Everywhere marks the first time in the band’s history that an album was recorded in a real studio (Toronto’s Revolution Recording); past albums have been famously recorded in historic churches, castles, music venues and more.

“We wanted to try something new, expand our horizons, and flex a bit of the creative muscle we’ve built up through years of touring,” says Dekker. “It came as a bit of a surprise how well we functioned as a band in that [studio] environment. We were able to focus completely on the songs, rather than the logistical obstacles of waiting for the boat to dock, or the rain to stop.”

Featuring the touring band from Lost Channels (long-time collaborator Erik Arnesen on banjo and guitar, along with new addition Miranda Mulholland contributing backing vocals and violin, Bret Higgins on upright bass, and Lost Channels drummer Greg Millson), New Wild Everywhere thematically picks up where the previous album left off, exploring transcendence in the natural world to describe the universal themes of love, mortality and escape.

Dekker has spent the last decade entrancing listeners with his unforgettable voice and compelling songwriting. Great Lake Swimmers have long been a word-of-mouth favorite in their home country of Canada for whom critical mass was inevitable. They’ve been regarded as a national treasure by the CBC, with Lost Channels (2009) topping the charts at CBC Radio 3 and on the iTunes Singer/Songwriter Chart. In the U.S., Lost Channels debuted at #10 on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart and was a favorite among influential bloggers and NPR staff. The band has received public endorsements by the likes of Feist, Robert Plant, NBC Nightly News anchor Brian Williams and cyclist Lance Armstrong. The latter two have both raved about the band on their personal websites; the former have handpicked the band to open shows and whole tours. Josh Groban has been known to open his show with a Great Lake Swimmers cover, and the band has shared the stage with such varied artists as Calexico, Sarah Harmer, Bela Fleck & The Sparrow Quartet, Hayden, Goldfrapp, and Bill Callahan of Smog.

Track List
01. Think That You Might Be Wrong ( 4:14)
02. New Wild Everywhere ( 3:47)
03. The Great Exhale ( 4:38)
04. The Knife ( 4:23)
05. Changes With The Wind ( 4:24)
06. Cornflower Blue ( 4:07)
07. Easy Come Easy Go ( 4:24)
08. Fields Of Progeny ( 2:56)
09. Ballad Of A Fisherman's Wife ( 3:18)
10. Quiet Your Mind ( 4:51)
11. Parkdale Blues ( 3:55)
12. On The Water ( 5:33)
01. New Wild Everywhere (Acoustic) ( 3:43)
02. The Great Exhale (Demo) ( 4:29)
03. Easy Come Easy Go (Acoustic) ( 3:36)
04. Les Champs De Prog niture ( 3:09)
05. I Will Never See The Sun (TTC Version) ( 3:55)
06. Something Heavy ( 3:34)
07. What Was Going Through My Head ( 3:10)


Download File

Download from Extabit Share-Online Bayfiles Rapidshare

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [30-03-2012]
  • Pietro
  • [30 March 2012 18:57]
Great songs!