Destroyer - Poison Season [2015]

MUSiC, Album. August 14, 2015 by Anonymous.

Destroyer - Poison Season [2015] [Album]
Merge / MRG569 / CD
FLAC / Lossless / Log (100%) / Cue
MP3 / 320

On August 28, Destroyer returns with a new full-length, Poison Season. In addition, a two-song 12-inch that includes a remix of album track "Forces From Above" and the orchestral version of "Times Square, Poison Season" will be released as a companion to the record.

1. Times Square, Poison Season I (2:33)
2. Dream Lover (3:48)
3. Forces from Above (5:51)
4. Hell Is an Open Door (3:17)
5. The River (3:35)
6. Girl in a Sling (3:04)
7. Times Square (4:11)
8. Archer on the Beach (4:56)
9. Midnight Meet the Rain (3:24)
10. Solace's Bride (3:43)
11. Bangkok (5:14)
12. Sun in the Sky (5:33)
13. Times Square, Poison Season II (3:02)

Total length: 52:11

Poison Season opens with Vancouver native Dan Bejar swathed in Hunky Dory strings. He's a dashboard Bowie surveying four wracked characters—Jesus, Jacob, Judy, Jack—simultaneously Biblical and musical theatre. This bittersweet, Times Square-set fanfare is reprised twice more on the record—first as swaying, saxophone-stoked "street-rock" and then finally as a curtain-closing reverie.

"The first and last songs are actually one song tracked live with quintet," explains their author. "I even sang with the band. That song always swung between super austere and super mid-'70s Springsteen/Bowie street-rock. In the end, I decided I wanted both. Couldn't really figure out a way to sequence the orchestral version within the record, so I decided to carve it up as a book-ending motif, with the rock version squarely in the middle."

Mr. Bejar has long displayed a chameleonic instinct for change while maintaining a unified aesthetic (rather than just pinballing between reference points). No two records sound the same, but they're always uniquely Destroyer. His latest incarnation often appears to take sonic cues from a distinctly British (usually Scottish, to be precise) strain of sophisti-pop: you might hear traces of Aztec Camera, Prefab Sprout, Orange Juice, or The Blow Monkeys. These songs merge a casual literary brilliance with intense melodic verve, nimble arrangements, and a certain blue-eyed-soul sadness.

Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [14-08-2015]