Demis Roussos - Forever & Ever: 40 Greatest Hits (1998)

MUSiC. April 24, 2011 by aomua.

Demis Roussos - Forever & Ever: 40 Greatest Hits (1998)
2CD | Genre: Pop | EAC Rip | Flac (Image) + Cue + Log | MP3 CBR 320Kbps | 21 + 19 Tracks
Covers Included | BR Music | BS 8201-2 | ~1005 + 378 Mb

Greek pop singer Demis Roussos has been making his brand of sentimental pop since the '60s with the melancholy Aphrodite's Child. He left that group in the early '70s to pursue a solo career, which slowly moved away from the pop sound of the era and developed into a more traditional style as time went by. This collection celebrates almost 33 years of music from Roussos, and what stands out the most is how strongly he held onto his image. From day one Roussos comes off as a lovesick crooner who can barely get from one note to another due to fear of bursting into tears. This may seem like an exaggeration, but about ten songs into this 40-song collection it begins to really stand out. Much like contemporaries such as Tom Jones and Julio Iglesias, Roussos puts his all into his gimmick. He is actually quite an effective singer; what really makes the album difficult to recommend is how much of this music the average listener can take. Most of these songs are very slow, sad, and depressing, something that works over ten tracks but can be rather overbearing at 40. Still, this is a great package for casual fans -- curious listeners should just beware of the intense sadness and sameness that comes with this collection.

Demis Roussos Biography:

Singer Demis Roussos, known for his dramatic, operatic vocal stylings, was born Artemios Ventouris Roussos in Alexandria, Egypt, on June 15, 1946, to Greek expatriate parents. In the early '60s, however, the family decided to return to their homeland, and once there, the young Roussos (who had studied trumpet and sung in the church choir in Egypt) began playing in local bands. One of these was Aphrodite's Child, which also featured Vangelis Papatanassiou and Lucas Sideras. A huge hit in Europe, especially France, the band released a handful of albums before breaking up in 1971. With his label contacts in place, however, Roussos was able to secure a deal as a solo recording artist, and later that same year issued the single "We Shall Dance," also included on the album On the Greek Side of My Mind. The 1970s were a prolific time for Roussos, and he released a number of singles and albums that charted highly on the European and Latin American charts. In 1978 the singer decided to retire, and moved to Malibu Beach, where he kept a lower profile. Eventually he moved back to Greece, however, and it was there from which he boarded TWA flight 847 to Rome on June 14, 1985. The plane was hijacked and Roussos and his wife, along with the other passengers, were held captive for a few days. The experience changed his life, and he decided the best way he could help others and promote understanding in the world was by returning to music. The Story of Demis Roussos came out shortly thereafter, and for a short while the singer's career was reignited, especially in southern Europe.

Demis Roussos - Forever & Ever: 40 Greatest Hits (1998) - CD1:


01. Rain and tears ( Aphrodite's Child ) 03:15
02. I want to live ( Aphrodite's Child ) 03:53
03. Marie Jolie ( Aphrodite's Child ) 04:39
04. Itґs five oґclock ( Aphrodite's Child ) 03:31
05. Spring summer winter and fall ( Aphrodite's Child ) 04:56
06. Such a funny night ( Aphrodite's Child ) 04:33
07. We shall dance 03:36
08. No way out 03:23
09. My reason 03:59
10. Forever and ever 03:40
11. Velvet mornings 03:40
12. Goodbye my love goodbye 03:56
13. My friend the wind 03:54
14. Schцnes mдdschen aus arcadia 03:24
15. Someday somewhere 03:05
16. My only fascination 03:44
17. Auf wiedersehґn 03:35
18. With you 03:23
19. When forever has gone 03:03
20. From souvenirs to souvenirs 02:37
21. Perdoname 02:58

Demis Roussos - Forever & Ever: 40 Greatest Hits (1998) - CD2:


01. Happy To Be On An Island In The Sun 03:11
02. Kyrila 03:44
03. Mourir Aupres De Mon Amour 04:19
04. Life In The City 03:35
05. Loin Des Yeux, Loin Du Coeur 03:08
06. Lost In Love 03:23
07. Race To The End 03:43
08. Lament 03:11
09. Follow Me 07:25
10. Island Of Love 03:44
11. Summer In Her Eyes 04:16
12. Ave Maria 05:26
13. Quand Je T'aime 03:47
14. Time 04:18
15. On Ecrit Sur Les Murs 03:36
16. Eleni 03:49
17. La Mer 07:08
18. Santa Lucia 03:27
19. Bella Notte 03:12



Do not Be a Passer-By on My Topics! but Interact & Leave a Comment!
Please, send email to: if all links are dead

Download File

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [24-04-2011]