CocoRosie - Tales Of A Grass Widow 2013-C4

MUSiC, Album. May 31, 2013 by Anonymous.

American duo CocoRosie aka sisters Sierra and Bianca Casady, release a track from their upcoming album, 'Tales of a Grass Widow.'

CocoRosie - Tales of a Grass Widow [2013] [Album]
City Slang / SLANG50050 / CD
MP3 V0 (VBR) / C4

'Tales Of A Grass Widow' is the fifth album from the cross-disciplinary performance artists, now signed to City Slang for European release on May 27, 2013 (Rest of Europe/UK).

Entitled "Gravediggress" the song is representative of the album's theme: transformative ecstasy in the face of harmful neglect. It tells the story of an imagined conversation between an abandoned child and an outcast old woman. The young girl asks the Gravediggress to bury her love in the ground for safekeeping - "Gravediggress dig me a hole I can bury, all of my love in, all of my holy." With a wistful pump organ introduction, Bianca imparts the entreating child's words, and Sierra, in haltering, but clear tones sings for the old woman. Their voices blend and overlap, suggesting the woman and child are the same person. Simple piano chords accompany their vocals, with chimes and a marching drum rhythm composed of beat box from CocoRosie's longtime collaborator, Tez.
Produced in association with Valgeir SigurĂ°sson, 'Tales of a Grass Widow' features 11 songs and, in keeping with prior compositions, synthesizes electronic and organic music conveying a compelling futuristic, return-to-nature sound. Further details of the album are to be announced soon.

Now in their 10th year, the sister's continue to find expression in progressively ambitious projects, which expand beyond writing, recording and touring their own music. In 2012, they choreographed "Nightshift," a dance production and "Soul Life," an opera both staged at the Donau Festival in Krems. Bianca held a solo exhibition of her artwork in NYC and the sisters performed at London's Meltdown Festival curated by their friend and sometime collaborator Antony Hegarty.

This spring, along with theatre director Robert Wilson the duo unveil their work on a production of "Peter Pan" by the Berliner Ensemble and will be performing in Paris under the curation of Laurie Anderson.

Later this year Bianca Casady launches 'Girls Against God' - an arts and letters print publication. Linked to this project, Bianca and Sierra Casady have founded the Future Feminists with Antony Hegarty and performance artists Kembra Pfahler and Johanna Constantine. The group's platform is to "free society and protect the planet from the corrosive effects of patriarchal belief systems".

The songs in 'Tales of a Grass Widow,' touch on CocoRosie's personal response to the group's feminist mission.


01 - After The Afterlife
02 - Tears For Animals
03 - Child Bride
04 - Broken Chariot
05 - End Of Time
06 - Harmless Monster
07 - Gravediggress
08 - Far Away
09 - Roots Of My Hair
10 - Villain
11 - Poison

Download File

CocoRosie-Tales_Of_A_Grass_Widow-2013-C4 - Extabit - Datafile

CocoRosie-Tales_Of_A_Grass_Widow-CD-FLAC-2013-PERFECT - Extabit - Datafile

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [31-05-2013]