Citizen Cope - One Lovely Day 2012

MUSiC, Album. July 17, 2012 by nico.

Citizen Cope - One Lovely Day [2012] [Album]
MP3 / 320 wrote:
On One Lovely Day, Citizen Cope’s fifth album and his second after going independent, he seems content in his music and his message. Right from the get go he knows how to play to his audience but he’s also not afraid to show them some new things. Starting off with the title track, he is aiming to keep things light and fun while also delving into some serious stuff. The title track is one of those songs that would sound perfect on AOR radio right alongside John Mayer and some old Cranberries. The song is light with a great groove that he takes all the way to the end, keeping things cool and breezy. When you’ve established a formula for success as he has over the last decade, you don’t want to start messing with it.

I haven’t ever really been a fan of Citizen Cope; for one reason, because I like a little bit of crunch in my music and for the most part, this genre just doesn’t have it. But upon listening to this album, I have found myself becoming a bit of a convert because this is great chill out music. Coming home from a long day at work, you throw this CD or MP3 on and immediately, you start feeling unwound and relaxed.

For my personal taste, “Dancer from Brazil” is one of the weakest tracks on the album because there feels like too much going on at the same time. There’s some lite rock, some almost-flamenco guitar, and what sounds like pedal steel all together, as though he took a bunch of styles, threw them together in a blender and recorded whatever it sounded like. Fortunately, that’s just one song out of ten.

“Back Then” is about the past and it has a very trippy, reminiscent feel as the music weaves throughout and blends things together very nicely. Definitely one of the greater songs on the record, but feels like it would be better served in a live environment.

“Peace River” could definitely be another single you might soon be hearing on the radio. Even though, to me, Citizen Cope has a similar style to Michael Franti and Spearhead, it’s just an absolute mystery as to why you don’t hear him on the radio or see him on TV as much. Hopefully, people will discover this record and that will start to change.

Without a doubt, the coolest song on the record is a very surprising cover of Glen Campbell’s ‘70s classic “Southern Nights.” I was very surprised upon hearing the track and I immediately fell in love with it. It’s a modern take on a song that your parents probably love. It just has an amazing feel and flow to it and is, without a doubt, the standout track here. “A Wonder” comes along and you will immediately start humming it for days on end, that’s how catchy the thing is. Back to back memorable tracks like that seem to be on one in a million on albums these days, but it was a welcome respite.

Closing out with the very chill “Summertime,” Citizen Cope has managed to make a great record by sticking to what he knows best. Maybe now it will be time for the rest of the country will know what so many people have known for years. Unquestionably, this is one of the catchiest and chill records of the year.

Track List:

01 One Lovely Day
02 Something To Believe In
03 Dancer From Brazil
04 Back Then
05 DFW
06 Peace River
07 For A Dollar
08 Southern Nights
09 A Wonder
10 Summertime

Download File

Extabit Putlocker

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [17-07-2012]