Annabel - Youth In Youth [2012]

MUSiC, Album. December 26, 2012 by Anonymous.

This sounds amazing. Check out Annabel in action. Their newest full length effort, Youth In Youth, reunites them with Count Your Lucky Stars records

Annabel - Youth In Youth [2012] [Album]
Count Your Lucky Stars / CYLS 052 / CD
FLAC / Lossless / Log (100%) / Cue
MP3 / 320
V0 (VBR)

Annabel has just released its bursting-at-the-seams new album “Youth In Youth,” and it does not disappoint!

The quar­tet released the album Nov. 24 via Count Your Lucky Stars Records, a label spe­cial­iz­ing in midwest-based indie rock and emo—a fit­ting home for the Ohio band and its music.

Annabel draws easy com­par­isons to numer­ous bands, rang­ing from the joy­ous indie rock ros­ter of Sargent House, the post-rock bands on Deep Elm and the pep and punch of pop-punkers like Superchunk. All are favor­able com­par­isons, though not ones fully encom­pass­ing the band. Annabel isn’t rev­o­lu­tion­iz­ing, but they are doing their own thing—a thing that is quite fun to hear.

The album begins with the stately intro and ensu­ing fire­works of “Young American,” a fit­ting opener that ends with as much uproar­i­ous gui­tar swag­ger as any Fang Island song. What ensues is a quick, con­stantly busy bevy of songs that blend into a fairly rap­tur­ous whole.

Each song is head­lined by earnest, top-of-the-lung vocals and bristling gui­tars, but the quiet parts spaced through­out are excel­lent coun­ter­bal­ances for the uproar­i­ous parts as well. These are found throughout—often soft vocals paired with qui­eter, rather sooth­ing gui­tar lines as in the low-key “At Least for Now” and with the stoic gui­tar and mean­der­ing bass of “The Dept. of Mutual Appreciation.”

It’s a good change of pace method that detracts from what would be the album’s biggest flaw: a feel­ing of same­ness. Luckily, they’re able to shy away from that fairly well.

Ending with the final, sky-scraping moments of “Our Days Were Numbered” with its twin­kling gui­tar, thun­der­ing bass, and shouted “forever”s, “Youth In Youth” is an album con­sis­tent through­out that may even broach the adjec­tive “great” with time. It’s cer­tainly a promis­ing pic­ture of a young band with a greater future.

R.I.Y.L.: The Appleseed Cast, Moving Mountains, Christie Front Drive, Explosions In the Sky and Jimmy Eat World.

Track List:
01 - Young American
02 - The Age of Possibilities
03 - Anti-Decisions
04 - Risk/Reward
05 - Theme from Home
06 - Home
07 - The Dept. of Mutual Appreciation
08 - At Least for Now
09 - Rapids
10 - You Could Be Living Better
11 - Our Days Were Numbered


Download File

V0 - Extabit -
320 - Extabit -
FLAC - Extabit -

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [26-12-2012]