Animal Kingdom - The Looking Away 2012-404

MUSiC, Album. September 15, 2012 by Anonymous.

The album opens with The Wave , complete with dreamy, MGMT-style vocals layered on top of powerful (and sometimes tribal sounding) drum beats and keyboards. It sounds like a song to back up the opening credits of a movie, so it appropriately opens the album

Animal Kingdom - The Looking Away
Mom & Pop / CD
MP3 / V0 (VBR)

This Summer is quickly shaping up to be one packed full of indie music, so packed that it may actually take away the oh-so unique sound of today s musical innovators. A strand of the sounds of Summer 2012 is Animal Kingdom, a British trio who s second LP The Looking Away (released back in May) gives us a taste of more than a handful of bands trying to make it in the era of digital music

Get Away With It is what follows, a higher paced, danceable song that is really a gem of this album. Another high point is the the third track Strange Attractor , a strong emphasis on vocal talent and songwriting alike

A step back from the energy being built up is Straw Man , a slow piano song with alien-like accompaniment and the often heard droney vocals. Skipping Disc has a solid opening drum beat that leads you through an all-out journey. Animal Kingdom hits their stride and utilizes everything in their possession for this one. Glass House is the most energy put out on this album, but it is quickly marred by distracting sound effects and vocal mixings that make it seem like the British trio is trying a bit too hard to be an indie band

The Art of Tuning Out brings back the sound effects and powerful drums, and add a sense of urgency that is all encased in the start, stop structure White Sparks is a slower song of the album, and features some of the interesting instrumental sounds heard from Gotye's most recent work. Everything At Once pulls out a strong guitar emphasis, which is continued on album closer Alone Together . This slowed down, beach rock sound is a great way to put a cap on this album and end it strongly

Animal Kingdom is only two albums into their young music careers, and they are quite the promising trio. The Looking Away had many ups and downs, but was kept interesting. The inconsistencies were noticeable, and the push to have an unachieved sound was felt. But there were diamonds in the rough, most notably the rhythm section and songs like Skipping Disc and Get Away With It.

01. The Wave
02. Get Away With It
03. Strange Attractor
04. Straw Man
05. Skipping Disc
06. Glass House
07. The Art Of Tuning Out
08. White Sparks
09. Everything At Once
10. Alone Together


Download File

Extabit | | Exoshare

Here you can download files online. Unlimited access to all sources file with one click direct download link!
  • Featured link
  • [15-09-2012]